A Short Intro

Dear Readers (Whoever does end up reading this, I thank you already in advance)

To start, I am new at this game. I’ve never blogged in the past and the closest thing I’ve done to blogging is making hell for trolls in comment sections and the occasional debate. But recent events (Occupy Wall Street and the backlash against it, anti-women rights proposals, do-nothing congress, and the craziest Republican field ever) have pushed me to a limit. I cannot sit here on my hands and watch these atrocities go on. But I am limited in what I can do because I’m a college student who wants to keep is future as bright as possible in the field of medical research. I cannot afford time to protest in the major cities or incite protests here on campus. Therefore I turn to the blog to get my opinion out on these issues and hopefully influence those who can make a difference.

But enough about the why I am doing this, this blog post is meant to introduce me to the readers of this blog. I will not tell you my name, where I live, or any personal information, I don’t want to be stalked for any reason. But after that, i don’t have much to hide. I am one of over 2000 college students at St. Lawrence University, a university only because it has a graduate program in Education. I am a biochemistry major looking to go into grad school next year. I run track when I’m not hurt (right now I can’t because of an ailing back). I am one of three brothers and my family is very well off thanks to the hard work of my father (who also will not be named for the sake of protection). I grew up in southwest CT in a very well off small town. And lastly for all the single men and ladies, sorry but I’m taken by the most wonder girlfriend in the world and I’m not giving her up for anything. She inspired me to do this, and I want to thank her for her support on this endeavor.

Now some of you may be guessing what my political orientation is. Well if my first paragraph did not give it away, I am a liberal in the strict sense of the world liberal in a lot of things. I am not talking about the “liberal wing” of the Democrats. I am talking about the strict political definition from the Merriam-Webster dictionary “a political philosophy based on belief in progress, the essential goodness of the human race, and the autonomy of the individual and standing for the protection of political and civil liberties; specifically: such a philosophy that considers government as a crucial instrument for amelioration of social inequities (as those involving race, gender, or class.” I do have a conservative side in me, mostly in terms of the justice system and its handling of all crimes except drug user related.

My goal though is not to spew liberal talking points and demonize everything Republican. I believe Eisenhower was an amazing president and I have respect for Regan for making tough choices. I don’t particularly like Regan, but that’s another story. My goal is to read through the bullshit of politics and call people out on their hypocrisy and bullshit. I don’t care if I make enemies; I am going to tell it like i see it.

On a final note, I will not always talk about politics. I will talk about other things as well. I am a huge sports fan, especially football and track. I am fascinated by people and science and if I find a scientific discovery or a famous person’s life event interesting and pertinent for my readers, I will talk about it. Also, if this blog gets popular enough I will ask readers for topics to talk about and the topics that are asked for the most or I like will be talked about.

Thank you for reading, and remember, not all of the 1% are greedy bastards, some of us do want to help the 99% as much as we can.

Leave a Reply

